Fun with Fimo

I thought I would give making food from Fimo again, there are so many Tutorials on the Web now, either written or on YouTube.  I bought everything I needed, watched videos, read articles, got tips.  I was ready to go.  How do these people make it look so easy, how do they stay so clean, or I should say how do I get myself in  such a mess.  The trouble is I see something and think I can do that, but I just need to keep it simple.

merangue

Trying to force white Fimo mixed with Liquid Fimo through an icing tube, is a very messy process.  I wanted to make a Pavlova, my first effort is on the left.  The picture looks ok, but if you saw it in real life, it is a discoloured blob.  The cherries [lets pretend] are small glass beads with coloured liquid fimo.  The Pavlova above has chocolate sauce on a cherry on top.

cake

The cake above is something I am quite pleased with though, to me a triumph.  The white fimo I had tried to squeeze through an icing tube, I spread onto a cake shape. [This was made from bits of previous attemps at cake making] I then decorated it with silver balls, which are the size of a pin head, after it had been baked [At this point I actually think I am baking a cake.] I brushed it with pearl powder, which I do use on my [real] cakes.

bread

Well the above picture is a French Stick, spread with rather rancid looking butter. I did not have quite the right colours to make butter, and added too much translucent Fimo, it looked better before I put it in the oven. The French Stick was made with Fimo mixed with Baking Powder and a little water.  It does give the texture of bread, and with practice would make quite convincing bread.

To see real talent in Miniature Food visit my Pintrest Board

Save

Save

One Comment Add yours

  1. Great fun! A bit of rancid looking butter always adds interest 🙂

    Like

Please spare a moment to comment

