Princess Entrance Hall

Have been back working on the inside of my Triang Princess 2.  The entrance hall in this house has been the most frustrating room I have ever done.

Triang Princess

Triang Princess

As I wanted to keep the orininal staircase, I covered each step with lolly stick planks. Using double side tape, so as not to damage the stairs underneath. As you can see the height of each step is uneven.

Triang Princess

Triang Princess

I added a wooden edging to the panel going up the stairs to look like a handrail.

Triang Princess

There is a small window on the stairs, which I have covered with a false wall.

Triang Princess

Another lolly stick floor was stained, waxed and laid.

First of all I had decided to use a red wallpaper, with a dado rail, this style of decoration seemed to make the hall look out of proportion. I continued with this colour scheme, hoping it would grow on me, added pictures on the wall a small table and umbrella stand.

Triang Princess

Triang Princess

Triang Princess

New doors and frames have been added and stained to match the floor, also skirting board. [The original doors are behind the new ones.]

So after trying to live with the red wallpaper, I gave in and started again. This time I put up some pretty floral paper. The background of this wallpaper was white, which was a bit bright, so I rubbed in some brown pastel.

Triang Princess

I have put carpet on the stairs, this covers up the odd size of the steps, so they do not notice too much.

Triang Princess

I think this wallpaper looks much better, and have also added wallpaper above the dado rail, which I think looks much better. There is now carpet on the stairs, I want to make some stair rods for the stairs. The rug is the same material as the stair carpet, but I would like something a bit different I think. There is a table with flowers and a picture frame, but I am not sure about the furniture at the moment, but this will do for now.

Save

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Really lovely space, whichever colour scheme you go with. It’s amazing how different it can look when you compare the two. Beautiful 🙂

    Like

    1. Lee Higgins says:

      Thank you, just need some furniture to suit the space.

      Like

  2. Joy Dowzak says:

    I really like how this turned out. It is just lovely.

    Like

    1. Lee Higgins says:

      Thank you, I just need to find the right furniture to go in it, and a new rug.

      Like

Please spare a moment to comment

